Portsmouth City Council Voter's Guide

2019 Portsmouth City Council Voter’s Guide

News, Portsmouth Voters Guide
Candidates answer questions in advance of the Nov. 5 municipal elections

A total of 21 candidates are running for nine seats on the Portsmouth City Council in 2019. The winners will be tasked with making decisions on a variety of important issues over the next two years. So, it’s time for voters to get informed.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 5. Polling hours are from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. at locations in each of the city’s five wards. Contact the city clerk’s office for information about voting locations, voter registration, absentee ballots, and more.

As always, the top vote-getter will be named mayor, while the person who gets the second-most votes will be assistant mayor.

Click on each candidate’s name below to see their responses to PortsmouthNH.com’s survey.

Don’t forget to vote on Nov. 5!

Rick Becksted

Josh Denton

Tyler Goodwin

Cliff Lazenby

Joanna “Jo” Kelley

John K Tabor, Jr.

Christopher Lloyd Young

Stephen Barndollar

Doug Roberts

Tristan Law

Peter Whelan

Paige Trace

Nancy Pearson

Rebecca Perkins Kwoka

Petra Huda

Ned Raynolds

Derek Nadeau

Paul M. Mannle

Deaglan McEachern

Jim Splaine

Esther Kennedy